# **Minutes of Council**

Meeting Date: Tuesday, 11 July 2023, starting at 7.30 pm

Present: Councillor M Hindle (Chair)

Councillors:

S Hirst M Robinson T Austin J Rogerson J Alcock G Scott S Atkinson N Stubbs S Bibby K Barnsley D Birtwhistle D Brocklehurst I Brown R Corney S Brunskill S Cowman L Edge R Ray R Elms L Jameson S Farmer R Walsh S Fletcher C McFall M French J Atherton J Hill G McCrum S Hore M Peplow K Horkin K Spencer M Graveston R Newmark D O'Rourke G Hibbert S O'Rourke L Street

In attendance: Chief Executive, Director of Resources & Deputy Chief Executive and Solicitor

# 180 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for the meeting were received from Councillor A Wilkins-Odudu.

## 181 APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN

The Mayor informed Members that the Special Council meeting had been called to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on two past Members of the Council – Richard Sherras and Robert Thompson. He noted it was his privilege to confer these titles.

Councillor Simon Hore, Deputy Leader of the Council, moved a resolution to confer upon Richard Sherras the title of Honorary Alderman and referred to his 24 years' service on the Council. He noted his highlights as a Chairman for Planning and Development Committee, Deputy Leader, Armed Forces Champion, and his work for the Rural Services Network. He also referred to his experience as a parachutist in the 16<sup>th</sup> Independent Parachute Brigade, and the charities for which he had raised money during his Mayoral year of 2013. Councillor Lee Jameson, the Leader of the Labour Group, seconded the resolution.

### RESOLVED:

The Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman upon Richard Sherras and a framed illuminated scroll be presented to him.

Councillor Stuart Hirst moved a resolution that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred upon Robert Thompson and referred to his 24 years' service on the Council. He personally thanked Robert for his support in planning the Jubilee Trail in 2022. Councillor Hirst noted his highlights as Chair of Community Committee for 16 years, which included the introduction of the three stream waste collection for the Borough, and the opening of the Castle Museum. He also referred to his calm and effective leadership, and his valued and effective record, wishing him well following his relocation. Councillor Stewart Fletcher, the Leader of the Opposition, seconded the nomination.

### RESOLVED:

The Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman upon Robert Thompson and a framed illuminated scroll be presented to him.

The meeting closed at 7.45 pm

If you have any queries on these minutes please contact the committee clerk, Rebecca Tait rebecca.tait@ribblevalley.gov.uk.